Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission Announces Launch of America 250 Foundation

Post Date:03/15/2020 8:08 AM

Foundation will serve as nonprofit affiliate of Commission, providing essential day-to-day support in preparation for America’s 250th birthday

(Washington, D.C.) – The U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission, the federally appointed body tasked with planning and executing the commemoration of America’s 250th anniversary, has launched the America 250 Foundation, a nonprofit organization that will provide the Commission with programmatic and fundraising support needed to plan the largest peacetime celebration in U.S. history. The establishment of the Foundation mirrors the standard practice of other federal commemorative commissions, forging a robust public-private partnership to advance the America 250 observance.

“The creation of the America 250 Foundation provides an essential and valuable partner to the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission as we promote our plans for America’s 250th anniversary,” remarked Dan DiLella, chairman of the Commission. “Working together, the Commission and Foundation are a powerful one-two punch supporting our goal to craft an inspirational celebration that involves all Americans and each American.”

As the official nonprofit affiliate of the Commission, the Foundation will build strategic partnerships across the globe to develop creative programs and events for the 250th anniversary of America’s independence in 2026. The Foundation will collaborate closely with the Commission on program design and execution.

Tony RucciDr. Tony Rucci, who led the Commission’s strategic planning process in 2019, has been appointed to lead the Foundation as its president and CEO. Rucci has a distinguished career in business, academia and community service. He is Professor Emeritus from Ohio State University, having retired as a Clinical Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor in December 2018. Prior to his career in academia, Rucci served as a senior corporate officer in three Fortune companies; Cardinal Health, Sears Roebuck, and Baxter International. In addition, Tony has maintained an active advising and consulting practice with companies and extensive pro-bono practice with not-for-profit organizations. He has generously agreed to donate his time to the Foundation, serving on a pro-bono basis.

“The Commission is laser-focused on building a scalable organization that will achieve our vision of engaging all Americans on our journey to 2026,” noted DiLella. “Tony’s diverse leadership experience will be invaluable as we develop programs and events, secure national partners, and seek fundraising sources across the country.”

Through these efforts, the Foundation aims to help the Commission produce more than 100,000 national programs, attract billions of dollars in resources, and promote tourism for cities and states across the country.
“I’m humbled and proud to lead the America 250 Foundation to secure the resources necessary to fuel nationwide participation leading up to 2026 and beyond,” said Rucci. “Our objective is to be fully inclusive in developing these programs and ensure we capture the voice of individual Americans in the process.

As president and CEO, Tony works alongside the Board of Directors of the America 250 Foundation. Board members include Tony Rucci, president and CEO; Dan DiLella, chairman of the U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission; Congressman Dwight Evans of Pennsylvania; David Cohen, Commission member; Lynn Forney Young, Commission member and secretary; Rosie Rios, Commission member and treasurer; Thomas Walker, vice chairman of the Commission; Frank Giordano, Commission Executive Director; Dalila Wilson-Scott, senior vice president of community impact at Comcast; and Jim Campi, chief policy officer at American Battlefield Trust.

The U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission was formed in 2016 after both chambers of Congress unanimously passed the United States Semiquincentennial Commission Act. The bipartisan body is comprised of eight members of Congress, 16 private citizens and the leaders of nine federal agencies.

Return to full list >>